So I Decided to Start a Book Blog…

Oh man, this is either going to be a great idea or a disaster. I can already hear the universe whispering to me: Amanda, you go back to school in three weeks, what in the world are you thinking?

Well, to be very honest, I’m not sure there was a whole lot of thinking involved. I just looked over at my growing stack of ARCs–ARCs that I’ve magically accumulated over the last few weeks–and I realized, yeah, I should probably do something about these. The universe has given me an opportunity here, and I should take it.

So here’s a quick tour through my stack of recently-acquired ARCs!


IMG_2215This collection of ARCs and goodies were courtesy of Fierce Reads! (You can find them on Twitter: @FierceReads). I ended up winning one of their emoji book contests, which was essentially: here are some emojis, guess the book? I took a stab in the dark with The Kiss of Deception (by Mary E. Pearson), a book I hadn’t even read at the time, and it ended up being the right answer! So in a first short weeks, I was the proud owner of a Heartless/Six of Crows sampler (Six of Crows is on the back of the Heartless sampler), as well as Dreamstrider (by Lindsay Smith)Bright Lights, Dark Nights (by Stephen Emond)The Devil’s Engine: Hellraisers (by Alexander Gordon Smith), and Signs Point to Yes (by Sandy Hall)!


IMG_2217The next ARC I ended up with was Legacy of Kings (by Eleanor Herman)! To make a long story short, I was so desperate to my hands on this that I went looking for someone who wanted to trade a copy. Instead, I found someone giving it away (how they didn’t love it, I don’t know) and that’s how I ended up with this beauty! How awesome is that?

(P.S. Legacy of Kings actually celebrates its book-birthday today! Find a copy at Amazon.ca, Amazon.com,  Barnes and Noble, or Chapters/Indigo!)


IMG_2264

My sixth ARC, Antigoddess (by Kendare Blake) was actually a gift from http://willasramblings.com/ (you can find her on Twitter: @WillasRambling)! It isn’t new, but the premise sounds super fantastic, and the third book in the series, Ungodly, releases on September 22, 2015!


IMG_2260

Now, these ARCs are a little something extra special. Last Saturday, @IndigoTeen held their first ever #TeamTeen event, where they invited people to visit them in Dundas Square (in Toronto) and get free books! But of course, I was wayyyyy on the other side of the city when I heard about this event, so I had no choice but to text everyone in my life to see who was downtown. And lo and behold, my beautiful and amazing boyfriend was a few blocks away! So after screaming for about twenty minutes (and spam texting his phone), he calls me to tell me he’s picked up these beautiful, beautiful ARCs for me from the lovely, lovely ladies who make up @IndigoTeen. I can not thank them enough for these!

And of all my ARCs right now, A Thousand Nights (by E. K. Johnston) is the one I decided to start. But The Rest of Us Just Live Here (by Patrick Ness) or Everything, Everything (by Nicola Yoon) could very well be next on my list!


M9B Winning Tweet

My next two ARCs are ebooks, courtesy of @Month9Books! And they are…

21843172

Nameless (by Jennifer Jenkins)

22264041

and Minotaur (by Phillip W. Simpson)!

These were a huge surprise, and they promise to be fantastic. I’ve heard several bloggers raving about Nameless, and while I haven’t heard anything about Minotaur yet, the description sounds awesome, so I’m hope it’ll be a great read as well!


I have more ARC to go, but before I get there, I’d like to give a quick shout-out to myfriendsarefiction.com (you can find her on Twitter: @Kris10MFAF).

MFAF Winning Tweet

My pre-order won’t be arriving for at least another month, but I’m already excited! Wondering what it is?

17564519It’s Walk on Earth a Stranger (by Rae Carson)!

I was absolutely floored when I ended up winning this contest. So many people entered, and Walk on Earth a Stranger felt like the last book I would end up getting a copy of. And now I’ll have a beautiful hardcover on the day it releases in late September!


Okay, so, this is my absolute pride and joy. This is the crown jewel of my collection of ARCs–and I don’t even have it in my hands yet. What is it?

21414439

Against all odds, that’s…yes. I HAVE A COPY OF TRUTHWITCH. The universe has looked down upon me and said, Amanda, we Ieave unto you this most coveted ARC. I only wish I could properly thank the lovely, lovely lady who sent me this, but I’m afraid the espionage she had to commit in order to get me copy is top secret stuff, so I can’t share. I can only hope my eternal gratitude is enough to show how absolutely over the moon I am to own a copy of Susan Dennard’s Truthwitch.


And that’s a wrap! I’m sorry my first post ended up being so long–I’m just so excited about all these books! I only hope I don’t sound like I’m gloating, because I’m nothing but super excited for the opportunity to join the wonderful blogging community that I’ve been following on Twitter for the last couple of months. Getting these ARCs has felt like a free pass into this book blogging world, and I can’t pass it up. Something just tells me I’m in for a wild ride.

Cheers friends,

Amanda

Leave a Reply

